Posted on

Trying this again…

A long time ago, I thought I would start a blog.  And I DID!  I even made a couple of posts to it…   and that was it.  I forgot my password, dug around to find it again, forgot it again, thought about making more posts, thought about posting only pictures (because then I wouldn’t feel pressured to think of something clever to say)…   didn’t post any pictures…   didn’t make any more blog posts…   forgot my password again and tried to forget about having a blog.

Time went by…   Seasons changed…

DSCF0037

DSCF0013

DSCF9706

DSCF0036_1

And THEN…  Last week I attended a Creative Enterprise Initiative workshop called “Social Media:  Introduction”.  Amidst the twitter/facebook/pinterest/how-to-make-a-video-and-post-it-on-youtube talk, at some point–maybe more than once–it was stated that “Everyone should have a blog”.   By “everyone” I think they meant artists, musicians, the MUSEUM (where the workshop was hosted), cultural organizations and the like.

I went home and thought that at some point in the distant future, I would start a blog.  YES!!  I would do it this time!  I would become super-blogger, my alter ego, with ever-ready witticisms flowing from my typing fingers.  The day after the “CEI Worshop Wednesday”, my enthusiasm had somewhat dwindled.  It seemed that my blogging career might never begin.  Then…  to the rescue…   Darlene arrived at my place.

Darlene showed up with 3 canvases, a palette, some brushes, many jars of paint, and various and sundry art supplies.  Darlene is my new art student.  Her first class was last Thursday.

Here she is putting paint on her palette:

Image

And here she is getting started on one of the canvases:Image

Darlene and I talked about lots of “stuff” while she painted.  One of the things  that was discussed during the art lesson was that “Everyone should have a blog”.  By “everyone”, I think Darlene meant “me”.

If there was audio with this next pic, you would hear Darlene saying, “Sheila, by next week I want to see a blog post”.Image

You might also hear her saying, “Sheila, I want to be in your blog post.  I want you to write ALL about ME”.  She didn’t actually say that, but she did mention that someone else in the Kitchener area had just featured her in a blog post.  I think she may have aspirations of being the most blogged-about resident in the Waterloo Region.

And here are the three canvases that Darlene worked on:Image

She is painting a triptych of some trees.  I think it will be great!

And now I’ve written my first blog post (besides those two lame posts I wrote ages ago, which I need to delete once I find my password)!

…because “Everyone should have a blog”.

Here’s the website for the MUSEUM (where the workshop, “Social Media:  Introduction”, took place):

http://www.themuseum.ca/main.cfm

And here’s a link to future events hosted by Creative Enterprise Initiative:

http://www.eventbrite.ca/org/2861339143?s=Style%20object

“Creative Enterprise Initiative is devoted to making Waterloo Region a vibrant and exciting place to live, work, play and stay by creating an exceptional environment for arts and culture to flourish.”

About sheiladiemert

I'm a Catholic artist trying to embrace social media despite having a certain aversion to it.

One response to “Trying this again…

  1. Pingback: Trying this again… | Catholic Canada

Leave a Reply

